nektar a tab in the ocean graphicnektar a recycled graphic

The Nektar Project

sounds like this

Nektar — "Sounds Like This" (1973)
Remastered (2004)

Roye Albrighton / guitar, lead vocals
Derek "Mo" Moore / bass, backing vocals
Ron Howden / drums, percussion
Allan "Taff" Freeman / keyboards, backing vocals
Mick Brockett / lights and visual effects

Sample music clips are in lime green

  1. Good Day
  2. New Day Dawning
  3. What Ya Gonna Do?
  4. 1-2-3-4
  5. Do You Believe In Magic?
  6. Cast Your Fate
  7. A Day in the Life of a Preacher
  8. Wings
  9. Odysee
  10. Rons On
  11. Never, Never, Never
  12. Da Da Dum
 Bonus Tracks on Remastered Cd Disc 2:
  1. Good Day
  2. New Day Dawning
  3. Sunshine Down On The City
  4. Da Da Dum
  5. What Ya Gonna Do?
  6. It's All In Your Mind
  7. Cast Your Fate
  8. Wings

"Sounds Like This" was recorded over three days in February of 1973 at studio Dierks (Germany), the "live in the studio" intent was to give their fans a taste of what a live Nektar show really sounded like without the overdubs and remixes.

These pieces actually pre–date the first two Nektar releases (Journey & Tab), many are Roye Albrighton or Mo, Taff & Ron (Prophecy) compositions from before Nektar even existed as a band. These individual songs had actually accumulated during the first two years of Nektar playing on the road, so they needed to be laid down on vinyl to make way for newer material to come (RTF)… thus the "Live in the Studio" idea came to pass as the easiest way to preserve these songs. Some of these pieces were first recorded in 1970, but those "Boston Tapes" were never deemed suitable for release, thus these songs were still floating around the 1972 live performances to keep them alive and fresh. This double album was a way for Nektar to move forward by recording their past for posterity.
So, had the NATURAL order of Nektar's musical progression been followed, "NEKTAR SOUNDS LIKE THIS" would have been the FIRST release by the band!

As the author of the Jefferson Airplane book "Take Me To A Circus Tent" and a former radio disc–jockey, I am often asked to write and or discuss various music supplies and recordings from the 60's and 70's.

Nektar's third release coming after "Journey To The Centre Of The Eye" and "A Tab In The Ocean" to this day remains the most underrated of the original Roye Albrighton albums.

Critics called this not up to the previous LP's, when in fact they should have been emphatically impressed with the diversity of the material and the willingness to show off their wears in a double album!

"Good Day" The perfect opening track. It shows the bands ability to tastefully jam around a catchy tune.

"New Day Dawning" Brings us closer to the progressive sound we loved from the two previous efforts. Roye plays with such intensity that it can split your head open. All of a sudden the band takes a bit of the Beatles legendary song "Norwegian Wood (This Bird Has Flown)." It some how all comes together in a five minute production of brilliance.

"What Ya Gonna Do" Turned out to be the song with a myriad of titles over the years. Sometimes called "Woman Trouble", "Easy" or "Evil" the tune pays homage to the sounds of the blues and early rock and roll. Taff's keyboards bring us back to the 50's and Roye's six string is having fun with the trip to yesteryear.

"1–2–3–4" Would be legendary for its on stage power. The twelve minute studio version leaves a calling card for the all out assault of the senses the concert audience would endure. Mo's bass is crystal clear as the walls shake from the sheer aggression of the music.

"Do You Believe In Magic?" Delivers a tremendous combination of vocal and musical savvy. Ron Howden's drumming is precise, intense, and often up front in the mix.

"Cast Your Fate" Creates a painting of the highest quality. The canvass starts with mellow moods and during a false sense of security the painting takes a heavier view.

"A Day In The Life Of A Preacher" This became one of the most requested Nektar tunes for their live set. The thirteen–minute studio version in all it's splendor never prepared us for the epic live renditions. The band would click on all cylinders and the audience left gasping for air. If the only sounds that emanated the entire night were Roye's blowtorch guitar, you wouldn't feel cheated.

"Wings" Lets you recover from the previous aerial attack. The magic of Nektar is their ability to take us on a musical odyssey with every path never lined with imperfections.

"Odyssee: Rons on/Never, Never, Never/Da-Da-Dum" If ever a tune had an appropriate name. The music is captivating taking over your body. It mixes the progressive rock wizardry of Nektar with their rock and roll aggression. When you sprinkle on Ron's drum solo, this one isn't leaving the CD player anytime soon!

Make sure you look for the remaster from October 17, 2005 with an entire CD of bonus tracks!

Enjoy the music and be well,
Craig Fenton
Author of the Jefferson Airplane book " Take Me To A Circus Tent"

Contact Webmaster | Site Map | Privacy Policy | Contact UsCopyright © 2007 The Nektar Project